Heye Receives State Farm MVC Good Neighbor Award

March 20, 2018

By: MSU Athletics Communications

MVC Release
ST. LOUIS – One of 10 honorees in the Missouri Valley Conference, senior Christopher Heye of the Missouri State men's swimming and diving team was honored with the State Farm MVC Good Neighbor Award, announced Tuesday by league Commissioner Doug Elgin.
A four-year member of the men's squad, Heye was named the 2018 Mid-American Conference Outstanding Senior and was placed on the All-MAC First Team. He capped off a successful season in the pool with a gold medal in the 400 IM, where he now sits third in the all-time record books. Heye has earned a spot on the Dean's List, as well as the Athletic Director's Honor Roll, every single semester since he began his MSU swimming career, and was labeled a Dr. Bruce Johnson Maroon & White Scholar Athlete every year from 2015 to 2018. A 2018 CSCAA Scholar All-American in 2017, Heye earned MAC Distinguished Scholar honors for the 2016-17 season and he was named to the Academic All-MAC team as a sophomore.
Heye maintains a 3.66 cumulative GPA in biology, with a minor in chemistry. Pursuing a career in dentistry, he volunteered with the tooth truck every Tuesday from 5/2/2016 to 1/24/2017 for 3 hours each time to make 33 total hours. The Tooth Truck's purpose is to provide dental care to children whose families may not be able to afford or access the proper care they need. He has also volunteered with Missouri Mission of Mercy, Habitat for Humanity, Bear Crew, the Trail of Lights and served as a Buddy Bear - a program where Missouri State student-athletes are paired with an at-risk student from a local middle school.
He is the current Pre-Dental Society Treasurer where, as a member of the executive board, he assists in organizing and running meetings. He is primarily responsible for collecting membership dues and deciding where our excess money goes, whether it is to a charity or saved for the next year. During the meetings he help the president present information about dental schools and useful information for prospective dental students.
The MVC created the award in an effort to honor the achievements of exceptional student-athletes. In order to be eligible for the award, the student-athlete must be in good academic standing, must demonstrate good citizenship through good sportsmanship and significant community service, and must participate in a sport, during the season of recognition.  The Valley will recognize 10 student-athletes three times annually (fall, winter, spring), for a total of 30 honorees.  Institutions select their State Farm MVC Good Neighbor Award honorees.
Previous Missouri State winners of the MVC Leadership and Service Award are:
Fall 2007 - Carrie Vestal, Sr., women's cross country
Winter 2007-08 - Amy Crowder, Sr., women's swimming & diving
Spring 2008 - Chris Playter, Jr., baseball
Fall 2008 - David Arkin, So., football
Winter 2008-09 - Roxy Stiles, Jr., women's basketball
Spring 2009 - Jen Carr, Sr., softball
Fall 2009 - Terry Phillips, So., women's cross country
Winter 2009-10 - Will Creekmore, Jr., men's basketball
Spring 2010 - Scott Glenn, Jr., men's golf
Fall 2010 - Heath Melugin, Jr., men's soccer
Winter 2010-11 - Rene Smith, Sr., women's swimming & diving
Spring 2011 - Emily Matthews, Jr., women's golf
Fall 2011 - Ashlee Mason, So., volleyball
Winter 2011-12 - Christiana Shorter, Jr., women's basketball
Spring 2012 - Emily Beaver, Jr., women's track/cross country
Fall 2012 - Chelsea Voet, Sr., women's soccer
Winter 2012-13 - Jared Roberts, Jr., men's swimming & diving
Spring 2013 - Kimsue Grant, Sr., track & field
Fall 2013 - Caleb Schaffitzel, Jr., football
Winter 2013-14 - Bryonna Snow, Sr., women's basketball
Spring 2014 - Eric Straub, Sr., men's golf
Fall 2014 - Leah Reitmayer, Jr., field hockey
Winter 2014-15 - Tyler McCullough, So., men's basketball
Spring 2015 - Ali Trickey, Sr., softball
Fall 2015 - Tenaly Smith, Sr., cross country
Winter 2015-16 - Ibby Simcox, Sr., women's swimming & diving
Spring 2015-16 – Caroline Boone, Jr., women's golf
Fall 2016-17 – Shelby Harris, Sr., football
Winter 2016-17 – Brandon Weissman, Sr., men's swimming & diving
Spring 2016-17 – Alex Jefferson, Sr., baseball
Fall 2017-18 – Lily Johnson, Sr., volleyball
Print Friendly Version